On March 26, the City Council adopted the redistricting of the city’s ward and precinct lines.

The council approved two minor adjustments to the city’s ward boundaries. The first adjustment moves a section of the city south of Lake Street Extension and east of Williston Road from Ward 3 into Ward 1.

The other change moves residents who live on the western border of the city north of Minnetonka Boulevard and west of County Road No. 101 from Ward 4 into Ward 3. Because the legislative boundary between districts 44B and 48A follows Minnetonka Boulevard making this minor adjustment in the ward boundary eliminated the need to have a single precinct for the 231 residents in that section of the city.

Redistricting takes place every 10 years following the release of U.S. Census data, with the goal of equalizing population distribution at various representative levels. Minnetonka’s population is now 49,734. The population after the 2000 census was 51,304. The city’s charter requires that the city’s four wards be approximately equal in population distribution.

Ward 1
Ward 2
Ward 3
Ward 4

The council also approved reducing the number of precincts in the city from 27 to 23 while equalizing the population size of the precincts. These changes mean many voters will be voting in new polling locations this fall.

View the new ward and precinct map for Minnetonka.

Following the release of the 2010 U.S. Census data, the Minnesota Supreme Court-appointed redistricting panel issued the new U.S. Congressional and state legislative boundaries for Minnesota.

The city of Minnetonka remains in U.S. Congressional District 3. The city also remains in three separate state house and state senate districts.

View the legislative redistricting map for Minnetonka.

In July, Hennepin County will be mailing notices to all residents advising them of their polling location for the 2012 election. Staff will also publicize this information through the Minnetonka Memo and website.